President Barack Obama The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20500

Interior Secretary Sally Jewell The Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20240

May 6, 2014

Dear President Obama and Secretary Jewell:

We the undersigned are writing to urge you to halt proposed seismic airgun testing for oil and gas in the Atlantic Ocean. Proposed seismic airgun testing would span from Delaware to Florida, but the impacts would be felt in communities throughout the entire East Coast—potentially harming sea life, ecosystems, fisheries and coastal economies.

The use of airguns to conduct these seismic tests threatens fish populations and profitable fisheries. In fact, airgun noise has been shown to decrease catch rates of certain fisheries. Commercial and recreational fishing off the mid and south Atlantic generate billions annually and support hundreds of thousands of jobs. The Department of the Interior's assessment ignores the economic impacts the proposed seismic testing will have on fisheries and the fishermen who rely on the oceans for their livelihoods.

Additionally, the type of seismic airgun testing used to search for oil and gas is incredibly harmful and could injure or possibly kill thousands of marine mammals and fish, including the critically endangered North Atlantic right whale. Seismic airguns fire intense blasts of compressed air - almost as loud as explosives - every 10-12 seconds, 24 hours a day, for days to weeks on end. These loud airgun blasts can be heard for many hundreds of miles in the ocean and can drive whales to abandon their habitats, go silent, and cease foraging over vast areas. At shorter distances, airguns can cause permanent hearing loss, injury, and even death for whales, dolphins and fish.

Proposed seismic airgun testing will result in serious negative impacts to our marine resources that form the foundation of economic vitality for communities all along the Atlantic coast. We urge your administration to stop this process and focus on ensuring the vitality of vulnerable coastal economies along the Atlantic Coast. We cannot continue to put our ocean environment, beaches, marine resources, and coastal economies at risk.

Sincerely,

Alma Adams

State Representative - District 58, NC

Harry Aumack

Mayor - Keyport, NJ

Henry W. Ayer III

City Councilmember - Poquoson, VA

Kumar Barve

State Representative - District 06, MD

Andrea Boland

State Representative - District 142, ME

Sheryl Briggs

State Representative - District 93, ME

Angela Bryant

State Senator - District 04, NC

Becky Carney

State Representative - District 102, NC

Janice Cooper

State Representative - District 107, ME

Tricia Cotham

State Representative - District 100, NC

Traci-Dale Crawford

City Councilmember - Poquoson, VA

Mark Danish

State Representative - District 63, FL

Matthea Daughtry

State Representative - District 66, ME

James Dill

State Representative - District 14, ME

John Ducey

Mayor - The Township of Brick, NJ

Adam Ebbin

State Senator - District 30, VA

Gary Engelstad

Mayor - Bradley Beach, NJ

Tim Eustace

Assemblyman - Maywood, NJ

Jean Farmer-Butterfield

State Representative - District 24, NC

Richard Farnsworth

State Representative - District 117, ME

Barbara Favola

State Senator - District 31, VA

Susan Fisher

State Representative - District 114, NC

Amy Foster

Councilmember - St. Petersburg, FL

Thomas Giblin

Assemblyman - Clifton, NJ

Rick Glazier

State Representative - District 44, NC

Duane Hall

State Representative - District 114, NC

Diane Hanson

Mayor - Dewey Beach, DE

Denise Harlow

State Representative - District 116, ME

Pricey Harrison

State Representative - District 57, NC

Shiela Hixson

State Representative - District 03, MD

Yvonne Holley

State Representative - District 38, ME

Patrick Hope

State Delegate - District 47, VA

James Hubbard

State Representative - District 04, MD

Tom Hucker

State Representative - District 20, MD

Verla Insko

State Representative - District 56, NC

Darren Jackson

State Representative - District 39, NC

Victoria Jackson-Stanley Mayor - Cambridge, MD

Debbie Johnson

Councilmember - Port Wentworth, GA

Paul Keyserling

State Representative - District 01, SC

Yvonne Johnson

Mayor Pro tempore - Greensboro, NC

Robert Keeler

Mayor - Beach Haven, NJ

Steven Kornell

City Councilmember - St. Petersburg, FL

Kaye Kory

State Delegate - District 38, VA

Rick Kriseman

Mayor - St. Petersburg, FL

Chuck Kruger

State Representative - District 48, ME

Mamie Locke

State Senator - District 02, VA

Thomas Longstaff

State Representative - District 109, ME

Benjamin Lucarelli Mayor - Fair Haven, NJ Paul Luebke

State Representative - District 30, NC

Eric Luedtke

State Representative - District 13, MD

Bruce MacDonald

State Representative - District 61, ME

Ben Malik

Commissioner - Cocoa Beach, FL

Ann Mallek

White Hall Supervisor - Albemarle County

Board of Supervisors, VA

Maria Mark

County Commissioner - Atlantic Beach, FL

Grier Martin

State Representative - District 34, NC

Chuck Maschal

Councilman - Beach Haven, NJ

Anne-Marie Mastraccio

State Representative - District 143, NC

A. Donald McEachin

State Representative - District 09, VA

Graig Meyer

State Representative - District 50, NC

Aruna Miller

State Representative - District 01, MD

Annie Mobley

State Representative - District 05, NC

Karen Montgomery

State Representative - District 14, MD

Dan Morhaim

State Representative - District 11, MD

Terry Morrison

State Representative - District 122, ME

Anthony Moyer

Mayor - Harrington, DE

Mary Mulhern

City Councilmember - Tampa, FL

Catherine Nadeau

State Representative - District 54, ME

Shirley Nathan-Pulliam

State Representative - District 10, MD

Mary Nelson

State Representative - District 112, ME

William Noon

State Representative - District 144, ME

Earline Parmon

State Senator - District 32, NC

Buzz Petsos

Mayor Pro tempore - Cape Canaveral, FL

Rocky Randels

Mayor - Cape Canaveral, FL

Sam Rasoul

State Delegate - District 11, VA

Bobbie Richardson

State Representative - District 07, NC

David Richardson

State Representative - District 113, FL

Gladys Robinson

State Senator - District 28, NC

Diane Russell

State Representative - District 120, ME

Deane Rykerson

State Representative - District 151, ME

Linda Sanborn

State Representative - District 130, ME

Adam Schneider

Mayor - Long Branch, NJ

William Schroeder

Mayor - Point Pleasant, NJ

Nancy Sikes-Kline

Vice Mayor - Saint Augustine, FL

Todd Smallwood

Councilmember - Fenwick Island, DE

Paul Smith

Mayor - Union Beach, NJ

Emilie Swearingen

Town Councilmember - Kure Beach, NC

Kristin Szakos

City Councilmember – Charlottesville, VA

Gerald Tarantolo

Mayor - Eatontown, NJ

Sharon Treat

State Representative - District 79, ME

Betty Walsh

City Councilmember - Cape Canaveral, FL

Susie Walters

Mayor Pro tempore - Nags Head, NC

Joan Welsh

State Representative - District 64, ME

Winkie Wilkins

State Representative - District 02, NC

Mike Woodard

State Senator - District 22, NC

Michael Wray

State Representative - District 27, NC